Making soap the REALLY old fashioned way

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sharron

Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to soap-making and am looking for help from people who have skills making soap the really old fashioned way. Here's my story...

I am a costumed interpreter at a historic home in Kentucky. We are developing trade skills, and I am able demonstrate hearth cooking, butter-making, etc, but I would like to be able to do something that not everybody can do. Soap-making came to mind.

I trained with a lady who makes soap for a "pioneer" type venue, but she uses sodium hydroxide flakes and measures everything with digital scales, etc. I can't do that since I am trying to replicate the way soap was made in early Kentucky using rainwater, ash, and lard.

I have tried soap-making on my own with no scales, etc. I collected hardwood ash and put it in a bucket layered with pebbles and straw. I poured rain and distilled water on the ash and let it drip out slowly over a couple of days. Then I poured it back in the bucket and let it drip out a second time. I did use a pH paper to check the pH, and it looked to be about a 10-11 on the scale. Next, I distilled the lye water over an open fire, boiling about a gallon and a half of lye water down to about 4 cup. I did the egg and potato test, and both floated. The egg had about a quarter size sticking out the top of the lye water.