Making Large Batch Soaps

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

J.D. Harrington

Reaction score
My wife and I have been making soaps for two years now and are ready to start making large batches. I made several large molds (14x18x4; 72 bars) and up-sized all the other tools (bowls, measuring cups, blender, bought a log splitter etc.) so we're basically ready. I've done lots of research with all the large batch youtubers, but before making our first batch, I wanted to make one last check here to see if there's anything that could trip us up. As I'm sure you know, large batches cost a tad bit more than small batches. so I'm looking for any tips to consider from all the resident experts that make large batches (i.e. superfating, water discounts, lye water ratios, etc.). Appreciate anything you can offer...

Larger batches will behave differently than smaller batches. They are more prone to partial gel, take longer to unmold, can take longer to trace, etc,
Might be worth (yes, even at the higher cost) to make a few test batches first so you are prepared and know what to expect.

Also have a recipe at your hand at all time with all steps listed to make sure all your additives/fragrance/colors are added & in the right amount! If you are mixing/swirling etc make sure the pattern is listed on your recipe card so that it can be repeated in the future.