Quantcast

making it a business

SoapMakingForum

Help Support SoapMakingForum:

dbloomingdale

Reaction score
I have been a hobbyist for almost 19 years. I always wanted to make my hobby a business but because I already work full time, it just would not be easy. Is there anyone out there that after many years of hobby, decided to make it a business?

amd

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Not after as many years as you have, but I did soap for a year and a half before I started my business. I've been in business for 5-1/2 years and still work full time outside the home (plus 4 kids and a hubby), at one point I worked full-time and had two part time jobs plus the soap biz.

Misschief

Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm still working full time and have my tiny little soap business on the side. Saturdays are for making and Sunday is market day (our season hasn't started yet). I only sell at one market but when (if) I retire, I'll try to get into another couple of markets locally.

JackofallShaves

Reaction score
I soaped for about 13 months and researched everything for about 6 months before that, before I started my business. I have a full time job with 50+ hour weeks, a soap business and a product photography business.

I do have a ton of room for process optimization in my business. I just started, so only get about one order a week. On one hand, this allows me save some costs and print all the labels, fold the boxes and "build" my package only when I get an order, but on the other hand, it takes me a long time to fulfill an order. I still don't have a good grasp on forecasting order volume and managing inventory based on that, I am guessing all this will come if(and when) the business grows.

KiwiMoose

Supporting Member
Reaction score