Making Embeds

Soapmaking Forum - Soap & Candle Forums

Help Support Soapmaking Forum - Soap & Candle Forums:

rjuconnfan

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 2, 2018
Messages
57
Reaction score
10
I am watching videos which show how to make embeds. It was stated that the embeds must be the same type of base as the other soap they are going in. So using a MP soap to make embeds or buying pre-made ones won't work with making a HP/ CP soap right? So if I want to make embeds I imagine I need a small batch...of the same soap for the bars. Do I just use a calculator and break the recipe down and make a little bit? or can I use the MP? Or maybe only use embeds with MP? I am guessing it is tricky to get the timing right otherwise?
 

lsg

Staff member
Admin
Moderator
Joined
Oct 14, 2007
Messages
15,207
Reaction score
6,532
People do use M&P embeds without a problem. In fact here is a video:
 

IrishLass

Staff member
Admin
Moderator
Supporting Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
17,589
Reaction score
11,480
Location
Right here, silly!
It was stated that the embeds must be the same type of base as the other soap they are going in.
Not true! Like lsg said in her post above, folks use M&P embeds in CP or HP without a problem. As a matter of fact I've been doing so for over 10 years.

You can make CP embeds, too, if you desire (I've done so a few times myself), but it's so much more easy and convenient to make them via MP.


IrishLass :)
 

shunt2011

Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Supporter
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
15,449
Reaction score
9,772
Location
Michigan
I’ve used MP in CP and on CP with no issues.
 

SunRiseArts

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2017
Messages
1,911
Reaction score
1,871
Location
Texas, USA
I use embeds ALL the time. Well, almost all the time. Never had problems. Just cannot pour too cold, so it won't separate IMO.

Check my photos. Many of them have them.
 
Top