lye

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Roxy25

Reaction score
I just read the difference between CP, HP, hand milled , and melt & pour. Since i am a beginner i will be making some melt and pours first, then handmilled etc..... I was wondering for the CP, HP, and handmilled that lye is used in the ingredients, is lye natural ? i know that sounds like a dumb question sorry

Hey Roxy - what you need to know is that without Lye there is no soap, not even M&P. However, once the soap is completed, there is no lye left in the soap....

Cheers
Lindy

It's NOT a dumb question - and it's asked quite often.

There is, in reality, no naturally occurring lye.

Ok, well if you happen across an old, cold pile of ashes from a fire from lightening or other natural causes (what those might be I can't imagine) where water has naturally filtered through the ashes you might find some alkali... but that's really not likely to happen in the course of your soapmaking.

So no, lye is not natural (despite all the claims people make about selling "natural" soap) with "all natural" ingredients.

Carebears right there are no dumb questions and it is a fair one. I should have said that before writing the rest of my reply.....sorry..... :?

carebear said:
It's NOT a dumb question - and it's asked quite often.

There is, in reality, no naturally occurring lye.

Ok, well if you happen across an old, cold pile of ashes from a fire from lightening or other natural causes (what those might be I can't imagine) where water has naturally filtered through the ashes you might find some alkali... but that's really not likely to happen in the course of your soapmaking.

So no, lye is not natural (despite all the claims people make about selling "natural" soap) with "all natural" ingredients.