Lye explosion - Help!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I’ve been making soap for 5 years now and have a small soap making business. Today I was making a batch of laundry soap which I’ve been making for years with no problem. I disolved my citric acid into my distilled water and then added the lye add it exploded, got on my shirt and now I’ve got 2nd degree burns on my stomach (not that bad). I’ve never had this happen before. Can anyone think of what I could have done wrong so it won’t happen again?

Last edited:
I disolved my citric acid into my distilled water and then added the lye add it exploded, got on my shirt and now I’ve got 2nd degree burns on my stomach (not not that bad).

Glad to hear the burns aren't bad. While I don't wear long sleeves, long pants or shoes, or gloves...I do wear a 'slick' apron.

So...process of elimination: New CA supplier? New NaOH supplier? What was the temperature of the water? How large was the amount of NaOH used? Did you pour it in or did you dump it in?

Good idea about the apron, I think I’ll use one next time. Lucky I always soapin shirts I don’t care about just in case.

It was a laundry bar so it’s pretty lye heavy but I’ve never had issues with it before. I’m always careful about slowly pouring the lye in. The only thing I can think of is maybe the water was too hot, I usually heat it in the microwave to dissolve the citric acid and then let it sit and cool down before I add the lye but I don’t usually check the temperature, maybe it was too hot? I was a little distracted, my baby learned to crawl this week so I got to keep half an eye on him. Do you know the optimum temperature for the water should be before you add the lye?