Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kiajera

Reaction score
Hi guys! I'm new here, but I have been making soap for roughly 6 years and I have encountered crystals of lye in my hot processed soap, which I also put in the oven to make a compound hp/ cpop soap with an embed.
I have pics here for you to see.
I'm going to re-batch it with a little more water and oil( just in case) in my crockpot, but do you guys have any clue why this could have happened?

Attachments

• 20181005_014029.jpg
    20181005_014029.jpg
    22.8 KB · Views: 83
  • 20181005_014013.jpg
    20181005_014013.jpg
    20.7 KB · Views: 85
  • 20181005_014046.jpg
    20181005_014046.jpg
    23 KB · Views: 86
  • 20181005_014042.jpg
    20181005_014042.jpg
    23.6 KB · Views: 84
  • 20181005_014104.jpg
    20181005_014104.jpg
    24.6 KB · Views: 76
Hello and welcome! Are you sure it's undissolved lye? If so then it likely wasn't mixed well enough before adding to the oils. That's the only reason I can say for why you would have lye chunks in the soap. Could it be hard oils that didn't melt? If you post your recipe and process we may be able to help more.

This looks like cold process soap with a partial gel. Maybe I'm missing the point since you mention it's HP and CP. In any case, the bullseye look is something I see on CP soap, not HP. The center of the bullseye is very likely not undissolved alkali. It looks more like the soap was overheated. If so, it's just soap.

edit -- Or if it's HP, I agree with what Carolyn said about a chunk of dried out soap.

I believe you're right, Carolyn. But it sure looks like a partial gel on a quick glance!

In either case, the odd center bit is very likely just soap.

It is lye. When I liked it it zapped furiously. The circle part is hot process and the weird red color is cold processed.