Lye calculation with goat or coconut milk

SoapMakingForum

Help Support SoapMakingForum:

Mango5

Reaction score
How do i figure how much lye you use if you want to use milk in some of your cold process soap? On the bramble lye calculater i don't see a place to say that your using milk just oils. How do i figure it out? I am also still confused about in the lye calculater where it says superfatting percentage. What do i put there? Can someone help clear up that for me and what is considered a godd superfat amount? I have so far made 6 different batches of soap so i am still a beginner but trying hard to learn. Thanks for all your input and patience for a beginner like me!!!!

Susie

Supporting Member
Reaction score
You just count it as a little extra superfat, and don't add it to the calculator. Substitute it for part or all of the water.

I use anywhere from 5-8% superfat. If I were using milk, I would probably use 5%, and without, I use 8% for winter. However, you need to adjust your superfat to your needs and likes. 5% is a good place to start for most soaps.

Also, we were all beginners once. Don't ever think that any of us were born with this knowledge and experience. I learned from others, I share with you, and you will soon be teaching others. Its a pay it forward kind of situation here.

Last edited:

SilverMaple

Reaction score
I use 5-6% superfat for milk soaps, and simply use the same amount of milk as the recipe calls for with water. If you are a little short on milk, you can simply make up the difference with water.

If you are using a milk powder, you can either mix that into your water before you add your lye, or stir the powder in at trace (I usually add it at trace, but reserve a small amount of liquid to make a slurry as that seems to dissolve better).

As to regular superfat percentages, that depends a lot on your recipe and personal preference or goals for the soap. I usually use 7-9% for non-milk soaps, but will go higher for certain recipes.