Lye Behaving Strangely – Splitting Liquid in Goat Milk Soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DeborahH

Reaction score
I’ve been making CP soap for over 10 years, mostly for personal use and as gifts. I especially like goat milk soap, and over the years I’ve experimented with all the usual ways of making it with the least amount of fuss and labor. I eventually settled on a procedure that has generally worked for me:

I divide the liquid called for in my recipe into 2 parts (amounts based on a 33% lye solution):
  • Part I (50% of the total liquid for the recipe) is distilled water, which I use to dissolve the lye.
  • Part 2 (50% of the total liquid for the recipe) is goat milk concentrate, which I add to the cooled fats and blend well.
Then I add the cooled lye water to the fats/goat milk mixture and proceed as I would with any other recipe.

The result is usually excellent with this method. I’ve done it many times with total success.

Today, however, I ran into a snag. I mixed the lye (from Duda Energy, the product looks like beads) with the distilled water and it behaved as usual – fully dissolved, totally clear. I left it to cool and when I came back to retrieve it, it had lots of “debris” floating around – little white flakes of “stuff.” Could it be lye? If so, how could that happen? I’d already dissolved the lye completely.

I was concerned about using this batch of lye solution, so I made another, using a little more water than I had used in the first batch. I was very careful to confirm that the lye was fully dissolved and the solution perfectly clear.

Since everything was ready to mix except the lye solution, I used an ice bath to cool it down. When it got this second batch of lye solution down to around 130 degrees, I started to see bits of the same kind of stuff I saw in the first batch of lye solution.