LS paste hardens to solid mass, zaps & never gels

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Neo Red

Reaction score
Hi everybody,

I'm new to soapmaking and have jumped straight into LS for a project that specifically requires it. I've tried a bunch of recipes I've found on Youtube and on here (the username IrishLass jumps to mind!); every single time I reach trace successfully and come to a mashed potato stage, then either leave it to sit or cook, but instead of the stuff transitioning into gel phase, it turns solid . I've resorted to leaving the product alone to maybe see if my patience was the issue, but it doesn't seem to be the case. I'll also add that the solids I've made haven't passed the zap test.

My latest attempt has been a simple olive oil (400g), coconut oil (92 deg, 100g) with a 1:1 lye, water ratio (107.35g for both as calculated using the soapcalc.net tool) and as far as I can tell I'm in the process of getting to the same result as my previous failures.

I've just had a thought leading me to hypothesise that the KOH I'm using could potentially be NaOH instead... according to anybody's experience here, does my theory make sense according to the result I'm achieving?

I've done about 7 batches modifying oils, trying different calcs and different water:lye ratios thinking they might have been the problem factors and honestly I'm getting a little frustrated.

Super grateful for for any help and/or advice.

p.s. my scales work fine!
p.p.s. hopefully I don't have to go back to the shop and strangle the guy who sold me KOH instead of NaOH.. (just kidding)

A photo would be helpful. If the soap is translucent or kind of translucent and a firmish, resilient jelly, then you are using KOH. NaOH will make an opaque, hard soap.