Liquid Soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bobbie.1960

Reaction score
I am new to this soapy thing and man have I gone all in. I was looking for a way to make my all natural dog shampoo have more lather and thicker.
I discovered the dual lye soap paste and made it this weekend. It did it! It made the lather and thickness I needed.
I am surprised at just how easy it was to make and cook.As I read many of these posts, I think, man one has to be chemist to make soap. I have learned that’s NOT true. I key is to find a soap maker who is will to break it down. I personally LOVE Mrs. Soap and Clay. I be learned more from her than I did in reading the three books I bought.

I like her channel too, and her recipes are pretty good. She has a funny sense of humor, for sure, and she is very generous with her knowledge.

I am concerned about her recommendation to use glass mixing containers for lye solution. While there may be different opinions about whether borosilicate glass can be etched by lye, there is always the danger of the glass container being dropped or knocked over. The only thing worse than a spill of hot caustic lye solution, is a spill of hot caustic lye solution with shards of glass in it! :eek:

Last edited:
I personally LOVE Mrs. Soap and Clay. I be learned more from her than I did in reading the three books I bought.
Could you please share a link?

I've been making LS since 2004 when I was a member of the Liquid Soap Makers Yahoo Group (Now defunct) for over 10 years. I'm always looking for good places to send Newbies to learn how to make LS.

TIA (Thanks in Advance)

Thank you for sharing the video. What a hoot! I can see why you like her. However, her knowledge of making LS is greatly lacking, so much so, that I don't know where to start!

To get off on the right foot, here's a link to where you can learn the basics for making LS: