Liquid soap help

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

farmgirl7

Reaction score
Mornin'! I am new here but not new to soap making. I've been making CP bar soap for about six years but last night I tried my hand at liquid soap and it didn't go well. Hoping for some help! I followed this http://candleandsoap.about.com/od/liqui ... idsoap.htm and after four hours, it did not seem to gel for me. Turned off the crock pot and went to bed and this morning I am hoping to "fix" it, if possible.

Now, to me it looked like mashed potatoes when I went to bed. This morning it looks more gooey but not what I would call "gel" but I don't know if I am misreading the soap. My starting temps were around130 degrees (until I picked up the book "Making Natural Liquid Soaps" and it said 160 degrees.) By that point my solution was making bubbles and foaming. Quickly turned to mashed potatoes and stayed that way with me stirring every 30 minutes.
Any ideas on what went wrong? Is this fixable? Thanks!
Lorij

My liquid soaps look different depending on the recipes I use. If it is not zapping, I would go a head with the dilution.

OK, thanks. I'll look at that link and will go ahead and dilute and see what happens!

I have tried to dilute the soap into water but it will not completely dissolve. What is in the water seems clear, though. Two ounces of boiled distilled water to one ounce soap "paste" and stir and continued to heat. Still have a glob of soap in water after ten minutes. No zap, though. Lots of suds as I clean the crock pot. Guess I wll try and dilute the whole mass? Any other suggestions?

Thank you!