Liquid Soap Didn't Trace

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

FarmerYoYo

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to liquid soap. I am actually trying to make shampoo, but it start with this recipe...

Oil Phase: The Oils, Butter, and Glycerin combination that is melted together in the crock pot on medium heat.
  • 8 Ounces Canola Oil
  • 5.3 Ounces Coconut Oil
  • 1.1 Ounces Castor Oil
  • 0.8 Ounces Mango Butter
  • 0.8 Ounces Sunflower Oil
  • 4 Ounces Glycerin
Water Phase: The Lye Solution, mixed separately and set aside till oils are melted.
  • 6 Ounces Apple Cider Vinegar (ACV)
  • 3.9 Ounces KOH
After Cook: The Superfat Portion of the recipe, which is added after the liquid soap paste reaches vaseline stage.
  • 0.5 Ounces Argan Oil (or other superfat oil of your choice), after cook
  • 1 Tablespoon Liquid Lecithin
Dilution: The Water Portion of the recipe, which is added after the cook and the addition of the superfat.
  • 30 ounces distilled water
  • Optional: 2.4 ounces Cetrimonium Chloride (about 4%)
Cool-Down Phase: Fragrance and preservative, which are added after some cooling.
  • 0.2 Ounces Germall Plus (or 5.7 grams--or round up to 6 grams, if your scale doesn't do tenths of a gram) — can be added when the temperature is under 176° F. The suggested usage rate for Germall Plus is 0.1% to 0.5%. For 60 ounces of finished product, you can use anywhere from 0.06 ounces to 0.3 ounces. It is best to weigh this out in grams, since the amount is very small. So the suggested amount in grams will be 1.7 grams to 8.5 grams. I've suggested 6 grams because that's more or less in the middle of that range.
  • 0.5 Ounces Essential Oil (or 14 grams) — best added when finished soap is still somewhat warm
  • Optional: 3 ounces DL-Panthenol (mixed with about 1 ounce water to dissolve) (about 5%)
  • Optional: 2-4 ounces Crothix, to make shampoo thicker.