Liquid soap 5% discount... Milky outcome

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sonhonauta

Reaction score
Hello, Its my first time making liquid soap. I used this exact recipie:
-1413 gr extra virgin olive oil.
-256 gr KHO.
-710 gr distilled water.
I used a 5% lye discount, and now I found out you cant superfat liquid soaps. The taffy mess is never quite translucent. When I chek for doneness its always milky. Its been cooking 7 hours now!
Can I still save it somehow? Can I use it? Thanks a lot

Your recipe assumes the KOH is 100% pure, and that is very unlikely to be correct. You need to learn the actual purity of your KOH. Only then will you be able to figure out how much KOH you should have used. Your supplier can provide information about purity.

With 95% pure KOH, you should have used 269 g KOH.
At 90% pure, the amount goes up to 283 g KOH.

Liquid soap paste is not always clear or translucent.
The cloudiness test only tells you if your paste has extra fat in it. It doesn't tell you if the saponification is finished.
You probably won't like using the soap as it is now, because the extra fats and fatty acids will separate out from the soap.
The soap was saponified hours ago. Cooking longer is not going to make things any better.

^What DeeAnna said!

Now, the good news is that you can fix liquid soap much easier than bar soap.

You need a total of 289 grams of KOH to bring that to 3% superfat, which is the maximum that you can superfat soap without using an emulsifier. You therefore need 33 grams more KOH to bring that to 3% superfat. Mix that with 99 grams of water (to give you a 3:1 ratio), and mix that in with the soap. Cook the soap with that in it until it is completely integrated.