Liquid shampoo recipe formulating?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hello all, so I've been lurking in the shadows of the message boards for a while but finally have a question that I cannot find answers to 😅

I'm new to soap making, so my theory could be completely wrong - but I had an idea but have no idea if it'll work or ratios to experiment with. Here goes:

Say I made your average liquid soap base and dilute it like I would normally - it'd be too thin/watery and a bit harsh. So, could I add things like stearic acid or cetyl alcohol to thicken it and add softness? Could I add a liquid combination of cocamidopropyl betaine and SCI for added lather and gentle cleansing? What about other things like vegetable glycerine? I'd also be interested in adding things like milks...(I do have optiphen as a preservative - I don't use any emulsifying waxes at this time and until I make more sales I am not too eager to spend more for experimentation purposes at this time).

I dunno, is my thought process completely off the rails wrong or is it possible to come up with a decent shampoo with these ingredients (this is what I have at this time and again, not wanting to spend additional money yet - I just want to know if it's possible).

This subject has been discussed many times. I suggest you do a search (find the magnifying glass icon upper right of this page) for "shampoo".

Here's a thread that discusses lye-based liquid shampoo & non-syndet conditioner.
https://www.soapmakingforum.com/threads/making-shampoo-conditioners.82617/#post-870660
I apologise for repeating the same question - I was not finding anything specific to my ingredients I have readily available and just wanted to know if it would be wasteful to experiment or if it could be worth it to try... Thank you for directing me to another thread that provided some answers ☺️