Liquid Palm Oil at Room Temperature

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Clyphelia

Reaction score
Hi all! First time post here!

I’ve made a few batches of CP soap and it was time to resupply, so I bought some ingredients from Brambleberry including two pounds of Palm Oil. When it arrived it was quite liquid, which didn’t concern me because I expected it to get to the 95 degree melting point during shipping, but it never solidified. I put it in the fridge overnight and it did harden, but when it got to room temperature again it went back to the same liquid state. It is cloudy and viscous, but 100% liquid at 70 degrees.

I asked a few people, since I’m new to this and have only had a few packages of palm oil before. I thought maybe this was in the realm of normal, even though it’s melting point is 95 and I’ve only ever seen hard palm oil. Plus Brambleberry is a trustworthy company. No one I spoke to seemed to have experienced this before and thought it was worth reaching out to customer service. So that’s what I did, and they were great and sent out a replacement right away.

That batch arrived and was the exact same. I contacted customer service again asking if maybe it was a batch issue. They emailed back and said they looked into it and that’s just how this batch is and it’s perfectly safe and performs the same.

Does this seem right? Has anyone seen this? I’m so scared to use it and have it result in unsafe soap, or not perform the same. I mean, palm oil being a hard oil is most of the point! Any advice would be greatly appreciated!