Liquid natural syndet for wool wash/rinse

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vulpeste

Reaction score
Hi everyone!
My name is Caroline and I am a total newbie here. I own a little company of hand dyed yarn, and recently decided that I wanted to develop additional products for wool care, and create a line of natural and neutral pH liquid detergent.
I first was looking at soap bar, and have talked here in a different thread about creating a lanolin soap bar. I will still look into this project, however after learning a little more I realised that I actually want to create two separate products, one being a hard lanolin soap bar to use on your woollens when they need to be cleaned of stains or else, with superfatting agent but mainly with enough surfactants to clean the wool, which would then be rinsed. I realised however that I also wanted a more 'day to day" product that would have less surfactants and cleaning agents, more of a conditioner, and that would be a "no-rinse conditioner"

My idea is to use the conditioning one when you want to refresh your knits or block them, and I want this product to be as pH neutral, and as gentle as possible on the knits whilst still having surfactants. After doing a little research, I have found these ingredients which I think could work for a recipe:

Sucrose cocoate:
– mild – increases foam density & viscosity – adds creaminess – has good re-fatting qualities – moisturising and anti-static – biodegradable, / 6.5, 7.5 pH, 65% active matter - foam collapse quickly, and turns milky in water - ( those are my notes on the product haha): I like the idea of a product that doesn't have too much suds and turns milky, so a low temperature cloud point non-ionic surfactant would be prefered.

Polysorbate 20