Liquid Castile Soap Question

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Leanna

Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to soap making, and up to now have only made one batch of cold process bar soap. I was following a video tutorial I found online for making Liquid Castile Soap with KOH.

I added the lye mixture to the oils and started blending, and everything seemed fine for about 5 minutes. Then I decided to move the whole operation back inside, so unplugged everything, got it all moved, and by the time I started the hand mixer back up, it had turned to a solid mass. I won't move it again in the future, but my question for now is whether it's possible to save it!

Any help is appreciated, thanks!

-Leanna

recovers to what? You have a paste quicker than expected, just dilute it, neutralize it and you are done. Liquid soap has to be diluted.

I just got done making a batch of liquid soap, it took me **** near 3 days to cook and dissolve it, count yourself very fortunate.

Well, I'm still not entirely certain I'm doing this right, but I'm continuing to cook it until it turns transparent. It actually seems like it's starting to change around the edges where the heat is highest (doing this in a crock pot). I do think it was a mistake to take the whole unit outside to do the lye, then stop mixing it for a couple minutes while I moved it back in. That was when it solidified on me. It wasn't to trace yet before it just completely turned to a solid block. I've done some more reading around, and possibly it seized? All I know is that the original recipe had it going through a bunch of stages (trace, taffy, finally too think to stir), and mine just went from liquid to solid with a pulse of the misxer. Anyways, I hope it turns out, but if not I'll try again this weekend. Thanks for the feedback :)