Lavender

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jenlwhi2

Reaction score
I need some help! I have been making cold process soap for several years and I recently began selling my soap. My all time favorite is lavender. But, I cannot get my lavender soap right! I use only Eos in this bar and no fos. I know lavender is a flighty one that doesn't want to stick well. I have tried pairing it with patchouli which is OK but still not enough scent. I have also paired with patchouli and orange combo. This smells stronger ,but doesn't smell like lavender. I want it to smell like lavender! Is this too much to ask?

What do u guys do?

How much eo do use and what kind?

Would hot processing and adding the eo at the end help?

Right now I am using Brambleberry Hungarian Lavender at the highest usage rate (maybe a little more actually.) 5 oz of oil for 10 lbs of soap. I noticed some of the other lavenders have a higher amount listed so wondered about trying a different one. But, lavender is so expensive I hate doing so many trial batches!

I use from .5 to 1 oz PPO. Try lavender 40/42 essential oil in soap. It doesn't smell as sweet as the French Fine Lavender, but It is cheaper and smells pretty good in soap. Camden Grey has a good price on it.

I use from .5 to 1 oz PPO. Try lavender 40/42 essential oil in soap. It doesn't smell as sweet as the French Fine Lavender, but It is cheaper and smells pretty good in soap. Camden Grey has a good price on it.
At 1 oz ppo does it have a nice strong scent? I don't want people to have to 'look' for the scent. I just want it to be there right away! Do u use anything else to help anchor it in?

Just post your question ONCE, please. You've posted the same question in 3 sub-forums.