Largest batch of HP soap ?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lion Of Judah

Reaction score
Greetings :
1st off let me introduce myself,my name is Janeau,and i'm new to this forum. I am also a newbie to saponification, as of this moment i have two CP batch under me belt , i have also been researching and reading as well as watching videos from since the start of the year. hopefully i can do the craft and science proud.

I was talking with a fellow newbie and she bought it to my attention that there is no information or videos on how to make large batches of "Hot Process " soap and that there was no tutorial on how to break down a large batch into say 5 lb molds that you can scent and color each one differently . Any one know of how you would go about making large 20-30 lb batches and breaking it down into smaller molds , would it get hard in the pot while trying to scent and color one portion for the smaller mold?

Hello Janeau,

I really haven't made 20-30 pounds at a time...but I have made 5 lb. loaves...although not in the crockpot. I would think that if your pot holds 5 lbs of ingredients you would be able to make a 5 lb. loaf.....so....I would think that it could be done. I began with small loaves, but the wooden molds that I have now were made for me and make 5 lb loaves....which gives me 14 bars....so....I hope his helps you....Good Luck.

:angel:
Sanctuary

The most I've ever done is 5 lbs total at a time. When I do HP, I make it in my oven in a big stainless soup pot. I can only make as big of a batch as my oven can hold, which is nowhere near 20 to 30 lbs, I can tell you that. :lol:

For really big batches like that, it sounds like you'd need something like this: http://www.soapmelters.com/Soap-Making- ... rs-s/3.htm