1. We are helping test out a new project for soapmakers. Soapmaking Friend. If you are interested in providing feedback and help guide this project to include all you want to see in a recipe builder and calculator please PM an Admin or post in the Announcements forum. Your feedback is really needed!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

Labeling Beer & Wine Soap

Discussion in 'Labels and Packaging' started by KristaY, May 2, 2018.

Help Support Soapmaking Forum by donating:

  1. May 2, 2018 #1

    KristaY

    KristaY

    KristaY

    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    1,712
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    Do you put the brand and type of beer or wine on your labels? I usually do but I just received several bottles of wine with only a couple of ounces in each that a local wine bar wants soap made out of. Since I'll simmer down several different reds then several different whites, I'm not sure what I should put on the label. There isn't enough wine in each bottle to make a batch so I'll have to blend them. They're all from different wineries and different grape types. Help!
     
  2. May 2, 2018 #2

    cmzaha

    cmzaha

    cmzaha

    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8,485
    Likes Received:
    6,745
    Location:
    Southern California
    Just put wine or beer on your label. If you make vegan soap you need to use vegan beer
     
    lindakschickens and Zany_in_CO like this.
  3. May 2, 2018 #3

    KristaY

    KristaY

    KristaY

    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    2,333
    Likes Received:
    1,712
    Location:
    Arizona, USA
    Thanks Carolyn.:)
     
    cmzaha likes this.
  4. May 3, 2018 #4

    amd

    amd

    amd

    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    2,196
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Yep. Just beer or wine. If I make it with something specific - such as from a local brewery, I get their permission and add it to the description on my website. The big guys (like Schell's) I don't ask permission.
     
  5. May 23, 2018 #5

    CaraBou

    CaraBou

    CaraBou

    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    2,956
    Likes Received:
    3,016
    Hmmm. What is vegan beer, or perhaps more importantly, what is non-vegan beer? Typically the only ingredients are water, barley (and/or other grains), hops and yeast. No animal products whatsoever.
     
  6. May 23, 2018 #6

    amd

    amd

    amd

    Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    2,196
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Not all beers are vegan. Some breweries will use fining agents such as gelatin. (Please don't ask me about fining or other things... this is what I remember my husband saying when discussing with a vegan friend if she would be able to drink his homemade beer.)
     
  7. May 23, 2018 #7

    earlene

    earlene

    earlene

    Grandmother & Soaper Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    4,543
    Likes Received:
    4,044
    Location:
    Western Illinois, USA
    Yes, gelatin, unless made from non-animal sources (such as agar-agar) are non-vegan as well as non-vegetarian.
     
  8. May 24, 2018 #8

    CaraBou

    CaraBou

    CaraBou

    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    2,956
    Likes Received:
    3,016
    Ah, I see. I'd consider that a rare ingredient for a brewery, but I suppose it is a possibility. Even still, if I was marketing to vegans, I wouldn't be too concerned about specifically labeling the beer as vegan. Instead I'd just label the soap as a whole as vegan, and simply list the ingredients. That's just me though, others should do as they wish.
     
  9. May 24, 2018 #9

    Zany_in_CO

    Zany_in_CO

    Zany_in_CO

    Saponifier

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2017
    Messages:
    2,435
    Likes Received:
    1,572
    Location:
    SE Denver CO
    Simmer red/white together and call it "Rosé Wine Soap". :D
     
    lindakschickens and MKLonestar like this.
  10. May 24, 2018 #10

    BrewerGeorge

    BrewerGeorge

    BrewerGeorge

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,335
    Likes Received:
    1,848
    Location:
    Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
    Breweries use finings made from animal products quite frequently. Both gelatin and isinglass (made from fish bladders) are common in traditional practice. Finings are added to improve clarity by settling yeast and particulates from suspension.

    However, most breweries of any size are going to be using manual filtration now. There is a good chance that anything bottled without yeast in the bottom of the bottle - or anything canned - will be vegan. Anything with national distribution is almost certainly vegan, unless they make a big deal about their traditional recipe and how long they've been using it. I don't think many breweries will advertise this, though, so if it's something you care about you should contact them to ask.
     
    MKLonestar, CaraBou and KristaY like this.
  11. May 26, 2018 #11

    CaraBou

    CaraBou

    CaraBou

    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    2,956
    Likes Received:
    3,016
    Oops, sorry to gum that up. I couldn't properly consult with my husband (also an avid homebrewer) so went with my partial knowledge of filtering, settling, etc. and the fact that I've not seen my strict vegan friend worry about beer. I also thought Carolyn might have been referring to yeast as animals (but they're actually a type of fungus). So my apologies to Carolyn and Krista, and thanks to amd and BrewerGeorge for keeping things straight!

    The interweb says gelatin and isinglass can also be used in wine-making, so you might consider that as well.
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2018
  12. May 27, 2018 #12

    I_like_melts

    I_like_melts

    I_like_melts

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2017
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    55
    Gelatin is almost always animal. It makes me sad because its in a lot of random things -_-
     
  13. Jul 25, 2018 #13

    nighttrain123

    nighttrain123

    nighttrain123

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    UK
    Is yeast an animal?
     
  14. Jul 25, 2018 #14

    Obsidian

    Obsidian

    Obsidian

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Messages:
    8,132
    Likes Received:
    5,370
    Location:
    Idaho, USA
    Nope, its a type of fungus
     
    lindakschickens likes this.
  15. Jul 26, 2018 #15

    nighttrain123

    nighttrain123

    nighttrain123

    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    UK
    Does Beer or Wine have an INCI category or name?
     
  16. Jul 26, 2018 #16

    OldHippie

    OldHippie

    OldHippie

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    128
    The INCI for beer is "Beer". Wine is not on my list.

    Homebrewers in the USA use an edible seaweed, "Irish Moss" (Chondrus crispus), as a fining agent. Fining agents all work by making the smaller molecules aggregate into larger particles so they settle out of solution. The carrageenan in the Irish Moss has a negative electrostatic charge. Protein clumps from the boiling wort’s hot break are positively charged. The attraction between proteins and carrageenan coagulates into larger clumps of hot break material, which precipitate out of suspension.
     
    BrewerGeorge likes this.
  17. Jul 27, 2018 #17

    Holly8991

    Holly8991

    Holly8991

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2018
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    65
    One of my hottest sellers it Merlot that I HP. No fragrance added but it smells good and is a really pretty color :)
     
  18. Jul 27, 2018 #18

    BrewerGeorge

    BrewerGeorge

    BrewerGeorge

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,335
    Likes Received:
    1,848
    Location:
    Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
    Irish Moss is what is called a "kettle fining." That is, it's used during the last few minutes of boiling the wort.

    Gelatin and Isinglass are "tank finings" They are used cold, after fermentation is complete, to knock down yeasts haze and protein haze caused by chilling.

    The point being, it's quite common to use both in home brewing or small craft shops, so those who care about the vegan aspect should still do their homework.
     
    Zany_in_CO and earlene like this.

Share This Page