Just Finished...

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

soapmage

Reaction score
I have a new EO blend that has rose, lavender, orange, and ylang-ylang, and decided to test it out. The pic doesn't show it, but the base is a light to medium green with a purple mica line, then topped with white and blue cornflowers. Speaking of mica lines... I'm still very new to doing them, and my question is how on earth do you get the lines cleaned up in the mold well enough to not get any on your top layer?!? I cleaned as best I could, but when I looked through my silicone mold I could see purple smeared all on the sides. Not to mention it's messy as heck, which is why I don't do them that often. But I love how the lines look in soap, so I guess I'm a glutton for punishment. Anyway, I'm hoping to cut it in a day or 2 to see how it turns out. It does smell lovely though! :D

0612151355a.jpg

0612151355.jpg

I don't do them a lot but I've found that whatever sticks on the side of the mold and therefore on the side of your soap is easily rinsed off or wiped off. Some people are very good at cleaning the sides of the mold between layers or after the line, using a damp paper towel or I believe some people place a sheet of waxed paper along the sides while they sprinkle and then remove the paper. As a non-seller, I take the messy approach and just clean the sides of the soap after unmolding.

I just learned to get my soap to a thicker trace, and pour the top layer over the spatula to avoid getting the line material onto the sides of the mold. Took some getting used to that thick a trace and how gently to pour, but time and perseverance won eventually.