Is my soap safe to use?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gemmapet

Reaction score
Hi there! This is my first time making soap. These are photos 24hours after molding. The visual appearance isn’t consistent some faint lighter colors, the soap is my smooth and feels consistent. No coloring added.

Not sure if it’s safe to use (I hope so, $80 ingredients😱). Looked into a lot of lye heavy forums but not sure if this is the same issue. Help!

Attachments

• 9C36BCFD-CFFD-4174-85DB-7736E637C0EC.jpeg
    9C36BCFD-CFFD-4174-85DB-7736E637C0EC.jpeg
    133.5 KB · Views: 37
  • 4792366B-0B52-41D8-B5A6-04446C7686DF.jpeg
    4792366B-0B52-41D8-B5A6-04446C7686DF.jpeg
    91.4 KB · Views: 35
  • CF835847-27EA-4934-A692-3189822359C7.jpeg
    CF835847-27EA-4934-A692-3189822359C7.jpeg
    98.9 KB · Views: 33
  • B19C2E68-4DCA-4918-AB7B-99577E157439.jpeg
    B19C2E68-4DCA-4918-AB7B-99577E157439.jpeg
    169 KB · Views: 30
  • 46E364B4-DF89-4A8B-9992-3B02485474FC.jpeg
    46E364B4-DF89-4A8B-9992-3B02485474FC.jpeg
    101.8 KB · Views: 34
First, that's a lot of soap for a first batch. Best to start small, so you don't have a ton of soap that you don't (maybe) end up liking.

Second, that top looks like "alien brains." Search the forum for that phrase for more info.

Lastly, we'll need your recipe and method to really help you trouble shoot.

@artemis is right, we need your recipe. With just the pictures, it looks like your soap went through an uneven gell phase and I don't think the top is alien brain. It looks to me that while your soap hardened and went through the gel phase, that it shrank and with the wax paper touching the batter it gathered up and created that look. I think if the wax paper wasn't touching your soap, it would have been a very smooth top.

However your recipe and any additives will really help us, help you.