Introducing ME!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Noreen Moore

Reaction score
Hello everyone! I'm Noreen! I just started soap making! I am 53 I work as an RN and have been in dire need of a hobby so I took a community ed class and made hot process soap. Then for months I watched BB videos and other youtube videos and slowly collected items like lye, immersion blender, then bought a different immersion blender... Finally a scale... But much to my chagrin not a good scale. No decimals. So... I guess 2 immersion blenders, 2 scales? Oh well... But I finally made 2 batches of cp recipes "I created" by just using soapcalc and oils and butters I had at the house. I sent the old boy to go to the laxative section of Wal-Mart to get me some castor oil! I am at a little over hour 50 on my 2 recipes of cp soap. I can tell the 2nd recipe with the castor oil is going to be superior to the first. I sliced my soap tonight. 1st soap felt greasy and had some gelling. 2nd felt quite firm and no gelling! Now the cure! Patience! It really is a virtue. Wow! A lot to learn. I was surprised at how quick from trace to oops... this sure got thick! The batter went. Wondered if it was a beginners thing or due to acceleration from the essential oil. Probably beginners thing as I wasn't going to make the same mistake twice. Sigh... Oops... I did it again... And I am no Brittany Spears!
Other hobbies are taking Bob Ross style oil painting classes. I have taken 2 and I really enjoy wet on wet oil painting. Then I bought acrylic paints. Whole new learning curve with that medium. And watching more youtube videos on painting with acrylic. I really want to make oil painting a hobby... But wow! The cost of just start up! YIKES! I now understand the meaning of "starving artists" to a T!!!