Shave Soap Insights about Tallow Shave Soaps

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 49910

Reaction score
I have been producing and selling Vegan-based shave soaps for about 9 months now. Success has been good, some months better than others. My predominant ingredient is Stearic Acid, which provides a significant amount of the formula I use. Beef tallow is expensive to buy already rendered averaging around 35¢ to 51¢ per ounce based on Amazon pricing in 2lb. quantities or larger. I could render it myself, but it is a lengthy process. That is why I continue to use other ingredients rather than tallow. Stearic acid in 5lb. quantities is around 18¢ per ounce from WSP. I feel that my use of Shea Butter helps add richness and emollients to the soap's lather.

Check out this link to the SHARPOLOGIST website where "Alraz" (pseudonym?) pens an interesting article regarding the 7 myths of tallow in shave soaps. In addition, he points a couple of interesting facts about lanolin and comparing lanolin to beef tallow, etc..

7 Common Tallow Soap Myths

I am by no means claiming that this is THE DEFINITIVE article regarding beef tallow in shave soap. He does however provide some good information and food for thought.

May All Members Here Have a Safe and Happy All Hallows' Eve!

Last edited:
Stearic Acid, which provides a significant amount of the formula I use. Beef tallow is expensive to buy already rendered averaging around 35¢ to 51¢ per ounce based on Amazon pricing in 2lb. quantities or larger.
I feel that my use of Shea Butter
You want to finish that statement? :videovisit:

SOAPERS CHOICE (Chicago area) Home | Soaper's Choice
Choose PRODUCT LIST - Upper Menu Bar to see all the products they offer.

Stearic Acid, 8 lb ................. $14.00
Tallow, 7 lb ...........................$11.55
Subtotal ............................... $25.55