Insight into fast trace for shaving soap recipe..will it be safe?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pittielove

Reaction score
Hi there,

I am relatively new to CP soap (a few months) and to this forum, but I have been lurking without an account for a while. I have been able to find excellent advice and insight into soap making and have made 6 batches of soap (it's soo addicting!) so far, including salt soap, which is curing right now but seems to have turned out quite well from the small test pieces I've tried ;-)

My boyfriend is very supportive of my soap making and we thought it would be a nice gift to make some shaving soap for his dad. I am aware there is an art and takes several attempts/years to make a GOOD shaving soap that is approved by those on shaving forums; I wouldn't be selling this and it would be for personal use or family/close friend gifts. I've done a lot of research into what makes a decent, creamy and stable, long lasting lathered shaving soap, and I know I'm missing a high stearic number and other certain components to make it a true shaving soap. My boyfriend's dad is a pretty old school, low maintenence guy who shaves with regular bar soap, so I thought it would be nice to make him something that was at least a little bit better, with more slip and better lather!

Here is the recipe I used and ran through soap calc:

Castor oil (20%) - 3.2 oz
Coconut oil (5%) - 0.8 oz
Palm oil (40%) - 6.4 oz
Shea butter (35%) - 5.6 oz

This made one pound of soap that I put into a 3 inch PVC mold (which, as I type this, I realize I forgot to spray with PAM or mineral oil). My lye was 2.07oz and water was 4.2oz, roughly a 2:1 water to lye ratio. I superfatted this recipe at 5%.

My soap quality numbers were:
Hardness: 40
Cleansing: 4
Conditioning: 59
Bubbly: 22
Creamy 54
Iodine: 60
INS: 131