I'm seeing more videos that...

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stacyspy

Reaction score
...are showing people adding water to HP during coloring to make it pour more like CP. What are the pros and cons to this?
I've always just made my soap the way I was taught years ago...lol...and I thought I'd watch a few videos to see what new things I can learn... and I never learned that technique.

[ame]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bO6M3tdN4hU[/ame]
This is one of the links, it looks like she reserves half of the water from the start, adds salt and sugar, then uses it to thin out the soap after. Since it's not really adding any extra water, would it still warp or/or shrink? I guess it won't hurt to try it in a small batch....

Last edited:
I am no HP expert. Haven't yet tried sodium lactate. I do make my water 40% to make it a bit smoother to pour. Some people get warping and one soaper commented that using a high water rate means you will loose more fragrance as the soap cures, I assume b/c the evaporating water carries some FO with it?

Pros: smoother texture, more fluid pour means easier to swirl

Cons: can take longer to harden/dry out (NOT the same as cure), can cause warping and shrinking. I hadn't heard about losing more fragrance, so not sure about that one.

ETA- I addded one of the links I watched, and a short synopsis of what she said. Any help would be appreciated :) Thanks

HP with added water

If I where to do this I think I would reserve some of the water needed for the batch. This would allow me to add some more water back into the Batch. This would make more sense to me.

I am not sure if adding extra water without accounting for lye would make any sense.

Does anyone else follow my madness :)