I'm making a soy milk soap but..

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sekar

Reaction score
I am a pharmacy college student and my final project is to make a formulation of soy milk soap.
I'm about to add excipients such as:
1. Soymilk, as the main ingredient.
2. Coconut oil and olive oil as the combination of oil bases,
3. NLS as surfactant (to add more foam - I don't know what to call for it),
4. NaOH as the alkalizing agent,
5. Combination of propylparaben and methylparaben as the preservative,
6. Stearic acid to harden the soap (it's a fatty acid - at least that's what I know #sendhelp),
7. Citric acid, as the chelating agent (so it does not react with metals - that might be on water),
8. Essence (I am aiming for jasmine cause it smells good),
9. And water.

My questions are:
1. How much soymilk do I have to add? I've read some threads saying it has to be on the same concentration as oils/lyes? (But I cannot take reference from any articles but journals and stuff)
2. Is there anything wrong in my recipe? Please let me know! I haven't done any optimations yet but still any helps are very much appreciated!
3. Please send me links of pdfs that could help my research :') I am struggling to find one :")

Ps. English is not my native language - I am so sorry. Please help me *cries in bubbles*

Welcome, Sekar. Have you made soap before? Will you be using a lye calculator, or are you required to do all the calculations 'from scratch'? If you are allowed to use a lye calculator, I recommend soapee: http://soapee.com/calculator