I need help please

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

She9

Reaction score
hi I’m very new to soap making but already addicted. I made my first crockpot batch last Monday and it just won’t harden. I am thinking I will recook it. I feel that perhaps I was too excited and didn’t cook it long enough. Does anyone have any suggestions or should I just go for it?

Why not! My first soap was a hot process class and everyone had their loaves of soap crumble. I talked to a gal who took the class and she put it all back in her crock pot and re-batched it and had nice bars of soap. I'm sure in time one of the soap sages will pipe in her with their expert advice! Brilliant people here! You found the right spot for trouble shooting! Good Luck She9!
Welcome to the best addiction ever!!! I'm hooked!

hi I’m very new to soap making but already addicted. I made my first crockpot batch last Monday and it just won’t harden. I am thinking I will recook it. I feel that perhaps I was too excited and didn’t cook it long enough. Does anyone have any suggestions or should I just go for it?

I think the people here will be able to help more if you let them know the recipe. Types/percent of oils, amount of lye, liquid etc. It may not have been cooked long enough, but there are many other factors that could cause soft soap.

Question? Has anyone used silk cocoons in their soap making process? How do you degum them? I've seen someone use pure soap not detergent with a vinegar rinse.

Question? Has anyone used silk cocoons in their soap making process? How do you degum them? I've seen someone use pure soap not detergent with a vinegar rinse.