I could use a little help with my CP-soap.

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Captain_Potbelly

Reaction score
Hello!
I'm new to soap making (it's so much fun!) and i could really use some help. I've tried googling and searching around here, but i can't find any good answers. This might be because english isn't my first language - i apologize in advance if my grammar is messed up. :)

Anyway!
So! I've tried M&P soap, CP and also rebatching CP and i have a few questions if anyone would like to help out.

Melt and pour: Is there any way to get rid of that awful glycerine-smell? I've tried adding EO, FO, tea etc, yet that funky smell still comes through.
Also: Why is it that my soap turned green when i poured in some tea that was a dark red?
I feel like this soap base is pretty awful, like it doesn't clean very well. Is this my imagination? M&P soaps are pretty, but i do not like them and i do not like making them.

Now on to my real problem:

I made a batch of CP-soap two weeks ago. I'm really impatient and curious - which means I added some things that was not according to my recipe. (You know... what would happen if i poured some of this in?).

Here's the original recipe:
114g water
45g lye
150g coconut oil
75g canola oil.
75g olive oil.

Here's what i ended up with:
114g water + 45g lye
150g coconut oil
73g canola oil
70g olive oil
7g sweet almond oil
11g powdered milk
0,5 teaspoon honey
0,5 teaspoon paprika powder

(told you, curios and impatient)

It took forever to trace, but it happened. Things looked ok, but i unmolded it too fast (all soft and mushy). About half of the soap i decided i was going to rebatch at a later state and the rest of it is still curing (no idea how things are going).

Yesterday when i rebatched i got a bit curious again... I added coconut milk and it really looked and smelled amazing.