HP Soap: Fragrance & Storage advice - please?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cyndiejc

Reaction score
Hello! I really need some help.
I’ve been making soaps and getting better at it, for about 8 years. But because it is a very part-time hobby, I am still not as proficient at it as so many other people out there. Maybe one day I’d like to start doing candles, too.

Anyway, I have a couple of issues that maybe someone can help me with. First is storage for between craft fairs for my soaps (right now I only do about 4 shows per year). Way back when, in the very beginning, before the idea of craft fairs even hit me, I tried Glad-type containers – made the mistake of storing multiple ‘flavors’ in one and I will not do that again; they all begin to smell the same, and not in a good way – kinda sour. That was also when I was still making CP soap. I began making HP soap a few years ago; maybe 4? The CP got to be too much of a P.I.T.A. as far as getting it OUT of the plastic molds. I loved the potential for the different shapes & everything, but it just wasn’t working for me. So…my hubby built me some really beautiful standard size wood molds and a cutter. Hot Process was the way to go – they’re all nice & uniform in size & shape, much easier to package. I went around in circles with packaging as well & finally settled upon plain brown paper with a label. It works, people like the soaps and the look. And I like the virtual instant gratification of HP - a lot - BIG plus, that.

Sorry to be so long-winded.