HP + CP Hybrid

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

K_G79

Reaction score
Hi! I am new to soap making & have a question about making a quazi crockpot HP+CP hybrid soap and if this is even possible.

In theory, the fat/oils, water, an lye would be measued for a full batch. Heating only the hard fats and water/lye solution to hotest temp, and cooking, then adding soft oils with hand blender at cool - or slightly cooler temp than cook, but not cooking any further or maybe at a lower temp for a longer period of time, would this create a usable bar? I am trying to have a fluid batter without extra water or having too much of an orange/brown hue?

I know I can add sodium lactate and other thing to loosen the batter and firm up the bar - just worried about the amount of lye that might still be present in the soap withouth the high temp extended cooking.

Also, this may be a completely rookie question - be kind, please.

I'm sure someone with far more experience will jump in, but imho I don't think this would work. If you want to do a hybrid type process you could start out as hp (all oils combined, add water/lye solution), cook a bit, but not long enough to fully saponify, then pour into molds etc. The lye would still be active, but the batter would be far more fluid then fully cooked hp.

It makes no difference when you add your liquid oils, the lye will still use the oils, but I really do not know if you will end up with a more fluid batter since you will still be using the same amount of oils. Why don't you just use the cp method, it would be much easier.

One other issue with your method is the fact your batter is going to trace really fast with the extra lye in the beginning so you really will not accomplish anthing, and I am not sure you will be able to stir in your liquid oils. This will depend on your percentage of liquid oils to hard oils.