How to rebatch soap? Help please

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

suzysoaping

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm really new to cold process soap making.
The first 2 batches i did seemed to work out ok and the whole process went well.

They are in their first week of curing.
However because i did not superfat these batches i have been told that
they could be too harsh and/ or drying to the skin.
I did the zap test and everything seemed ok.
But have been told to either throw away or rebatch.

What is the process of rebatching and how do you do it?

I'm a little sad that i may not be able to use or salvage the soaps i did as i didn't realize superfat was needed.
I thought that superfatting was personal preference/ choice to have your soaps with additions of unsaponified ingredients
(i am aware that lye will take what ever it wants even if you do superfat)

Any help ple? Much appreciated :)

I would like to know what to do in your situation too because I thought you could just leave the soap to cure for a longer period of time and it would mellow out. I'm sure someone knows what to do :)

grate it and remelt it in crockpot heat on warm/low for an hour or so, open the lid and stir gently.REPEAT lol this will take about 4 hours total. In the oven, about 2 ½ hours. How much time it takes will depend on how warm your crockpot/oven are and how much liquid you’ve put in.

When it’s to a consistency that you think it’s “pourable,” then it is time to add any additives

DragonQueenHHP said:
grate it and remelt it in crockpot heat on warm/low for an hour or so, open the lid and stir gently.REPEAT lol this will take about 4 hours total. In the oven, about 2 ½ hours. How much time it takes will depend on how warm your crockpot/oven are and how much liquid you’ve put in.

Liquid? do you add more liquid?

DragonQueenHHP said:
I use a form like Irish Lass uses