how to put lard on labels

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm not an expert by any means, but just my 2 cents - when I buy a product, I want the ingredient list to be as short as possible. We have a popular soap shop out here (Soaptopia). They list the ingredients more simply, like Palm Oil, Coconut Oil, etc. I would be hesitant to buy a soap that had a lot of scientific sounding ingredients in it (even if they are harmless). So, from a marketing standpoint, I vote for the simpler terms.

As for the lard thing - I'd definitely want to know if there's lard in the soap because I lean toward vegan, though I'm a bit loose with it. Then again, take everything I say with a grain of salt because I come from the land of fruits and nuts - California. I live in L.A., where everything and everyone is totally natural ( :roll: ). :lol:

Oh boy...Soaptopia. I have issues with them. Let's look at an ingredient listing from their website.

Our soap is all natural and handmade in small batches with lots of love and only the finest ingredients consisting of: Italian Olive oil, wildcrafted Shea butter, Coconut oil, Palm oil, Avocado oil, Organic Hempseed oil, plant infusions, Sweet Orange Blossom, Eucalytpus and Aloe Vera Essential Oils, Agave Root Extract and LOVE!.

Three things...aloe vera essential oils? And made with love? and they don't list lye. To me this is just deceptive.

I do love the look of their soaps though. Packaging, website...looks great.