How to calculate the weight of melt and pour soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

katie01

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a newbie at making soap and was wondering how to calculate the net weight and ounces of my bars. Thanks in advance.

In soapcalc, LyeCalc, or other online soap making calculators where you design whatever soap recipe you want, there is a Soap Weight (Pre-Cook) value of the whole batch before CP proccessing. If you subtract about half of the total weight of water, you will get the approximate net weight of the resulted bars of soap.

Last edited:
Do you have a scale? 😳

In soapcalc, LyeCalc, or other online soap making calculators where you design whatever soap recipe you want, there is a Soap Weight (Pre-Cook) value of the whole batch before CP proccessing. If you subtract about half of the total weight of water, you will get the approximate net weight of the resulted bars of soap.

MP doesn't work the same way. The amount of weight that MP soaps lose over time is negligible and takes a long time to be significantly noticeable.

Last edited:
Duh sorry, was on my phone and didn't see that this was in the M&P forum.

Are you asking how to know how much base to weigh out for melting?

Last edited:
I often do not understand things - I only do MP because I am not smrt enough to do CP.
But...is it not:

[weight of MP base used]/[# of bars]

?

I often do not understand things - I only do MP because I am not smrt enough to do CP.
But...is it not:

[weight of MP base used]/[# of bars]

?
It is. But if they don't know how much MP base they used, then they probably wouldn't know.

It is. But if they don't know how much MP base they used, then they probably wouldn't know.

Here is a thought:
- Weigh the mold before you start
- Melt, mix, and pour in the MP soap
- Once it is cool, weigh the whole thing again
- Subtract the weight of the mold
...no?