How test soap for FFA (Free Fatty Acids)?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vas.tzor

Reaction score
"After each batch is complete, we carefully test the sample to ensure that the batch has no FFA (Free Fatty Acids), and that there is no free lye (FA – Free Alkali). This is done by an acid-base titration method, where neutralisation is indicated by Phenolphthalein."

OK, so the above soap producer tests each batch for FFA and FA. I would like to do the same. I know how to perform the latter test thanks to Kevin M.Dunn 's awesome Book, Scientific Soapmaking. However as for the former test I am not too sure as I have no chemistry background. There is a section on pages 260 -63 in the book which explains how to titrate for Acid Value or FFA however the test is performed on an oil sample and not on an actual sample taken from a batch of finished soap. So my question is can the Acid Value (FFA) test be performed on a sample extracted from a batch of soap which is neutral as per the FA test?

I do know we can test a batch of soap for any unsaponified oil(s) or FFA by extracting a sample, diluting it in water and observing if turns cloudy or not, however I prefer a more quantitative approach. Hope I am making sense to someone out there.

Not sure that this a beginner subject!

It's not something I personally do (I also don't do a tritation test for excess lye, for that matter) because I am not aiming for an exact 0% superfat and 0% lye discount. A bit of excess oil is not an issue for most people, or specifically their bathroom plumbing, and unless you are testing your lye purity moments before you make a batch of soap, you are not going to be able to get it so spot on that you won't have either excess oil or excess lye.