How many oil types is too much?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jgs912

Reaction score
I tinker with soap making for my family. with a focus on goat's milk soap. With my background is in engineering, I like to use the on-line calculators to tweak various combinations of oils and butter to reach a mix of bubbles, cleansing, condition, hardness, longevity and creaminess. I find myself using 4-6 different oils and 2-4 different butters, How many is too much? Anyone have any guidance or suggestions? I could not find much online about too many oils, just a lot about single oil soap.

Whatever you want to bring to the party is entirely up to you. The general consensus is that any oils under 3% of your recipe won’t make any discernible difference (with the exception of castor oil which many people use at 3%).
I tweaked a lot at the beginning too - and have now settled on a standard recipe consisting of seven oils.

One thing to understand is the majority of any ‘benefit’ that an oil or butter may have is lost during the saponification process as the lye breaks down the fats into fatty acids.

Welcome to SMF, @jgs912 !

Don't make yourself crazy about that property number mumbo jumbo. The “hardness”, “conditioning” etc. numbers (just as helpers like INS) were invented by someone who had a specific conception of how their soap should be. Without any idea what you would like a soap bar to be. It's good to know when a recipe fulfills the “ideal” ranges, but it doesn't tell you how to reach them (i. e. which types of oils are interchangeable) or if you miss some important caveats. It's a somewhat decent analytical toolkit, but of limited use for synthesis (i. e. recipe design).

Most importantly, it doesn't reflect that there are different classes of oils, that have different degrees of flexibility to choose.