How do you gain the patience to master this craft?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Picklekin

Reaction score
I'm very new to all this, and I'm loving virtually all aspects of it, the creativity, the chemistry... my house smelling divine... but I'm finding it REALLY hard to stay patient!!

I made my first "pretty" soap yesterday (just two layers with a spoon swirl) and it took so much effort to stop stick blending and wait for the best moment to pour - I think I actually stopped blending a bit to early and had to stir for AGES... ok, maybe 20 minutes....

And now, it's sitting there.... in the mould. I can almost hear it whispering "Go on, have a peek.... you know you want to see if the swirls worked... ". I gave it a little poke earlier and it's not coming away from the sides yet, so I know it's not ready.... The last one I turned out to early and lost a lot of definition so I know I have to wait... but it's SO hard.

Does it get easier after you've made a lot? How do you stop yourself from poking stuff?!

@Picklekin
Oh how I wish I could say YES patience comes with time & maybe for some it does. For me however, every step is exciting, thrilling & patience is certainly not one of my soaping virtues. I can barely handle the No Peek after soap put “to bed” phase. Yes I CP my soap, no HP. I take every chance to fondle my soapies. 🧼✨🫣

I'm very new to all this, and I'm loving virtually all aspects of it, the creativity, the chemistry... my house smelling divine... but I'm finding it REALLY hard to stay patient!!

I made my first "pretty" soap yesterday (just two layers with a spoon swirl) and it took so much effort to stop stick blending and wait for the best moment to pour - I think I actually stopped blending a bit to early and had to stir for AGES... ok, maybe 20 minutes....