How do I know my soap saponified?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dollyk8

Reaction score
Hello,

First and foremost, I would like to thank everyone who encouraged me to resume my soapmaking activities despite my fears of hurting the kitten.
I locked her in the bedroom and made the soap in the kitchen and I am so glad I did.

Now, I'll get to the topic at hand. I have been making CP (and hot process) soap for nearly 5 years now. Yet, every now and then I have a surprise/challenging situation.
This time, I made cold process soap made with a high percentage of hard butters - 7% of cocoa butter, 19% of babassu oil, and 12% shea butter. Add to that olive oil and sweet almond oil.
I get very creative in my selection of fats. I created this recipe (very close to it) to develop a nice, creamy soap but hard.

The temperature of the oils in my crockpot were around 130 degrees Farenheit and the lye had cooled down to 110 degrees Farenheit.
I used a water amount that was 40% of oil weight. I began to stick blend and did so for half a minute. Paused to gather my essential oils. Turned around
and the oil and lye mix had become alarmingly solid. I added the essential oils and that softened the mix a little. I might have used the stick blender for another 30 seconds.
Then, hurriedly started to add the soap mixture into the molds.

The nagging thought I am having is, what if that was a false trace? How do I know if my soap saponified. It is not soft. But yet, I want to be a 100% sure that the fats, lye, and EOs did saponify (naturally).

Can anyone please help me ascertain that?

Yours truly indebted,
Dolly

then adding essential oils allowed me to stick blend more. How do I know that my soap saponified