How can I prevent that "sticky" feeling in my soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MK8

Reaction score
Hi guys, I am new to soapmaking. I just made my first batch earlier this month and have since made two more. I am looking for soap that feels moisturizing in the shower while using it AND while rinsing it off (meaning it rinses away without leaving that "squeaky clean" feel). I am giving some of my soap away to my mother and she's told me she doesn't like that sticky feeling in soap.

Example: It may not be fair to judge soap just 2 weeks old, but I was really curious about how my first batch felt. I cut off a tiny piece and washed my hands with it. The lather felt nice and soft, but rinsed away with that "feeling" where I couldn't rub my freshly rinsed hands together lightly without them kind of sticking as I did so. I'm trying to make my soap rinse away without that feeling if possible. I've searched this forum and the internet but can't seem to find anything on the topic. I know glycerin soap (that I've used) has always given me this sticky feeling until I dry off.

A perfect example of what I am looking for is Oil of Olay's bar soaps. They feel soft while you wash and after you rinse, and I just want to know if it's possible to get a similar after-rinsing softness without all the additives in commerical soap. I am using cold process recipes. So far I have palm, coconut, grapeseed, sunflower oils and mango and shea butters to use as ingredients but will order more once I determine what it is I am missing.