Hot process vs cold process

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

elvira

Reaction score
Regarding the quality of the soap itself, (not the difference in the making procedure and being able to add swirls, effects aromas etc)) what is the difference in the quality of the soap: mildness, mosturizing propierties, getting stains, lasting of the bar etc.

I'm still a budding newbie but I'd say if you have the same recipe, you're going to get the same soap regardless of process.

Being that I'm a HP'er, I'm a little biased. I'd also say that you have a little more freedom with ingredients with hp since you don't care about acceleration (like really high amounts of butters or stearic, etc). Also you can put things in after the cook that might otherwise be sensitive to the lye monster. Or high amounts of sugar without worrying about it getting hot, etc. So from a performance perspective, you might choose a recipe that is not possible or very difficult to do via cold process and could give you different (not necessarily better) results.

One of the "perks" of hp is being able to select superfat by adding it after the cook. This might affect moisturizing/conditioning/less stripping qualities of your soap. Probably not super noticeable though.

Like I said earlier though... same recipe, same soap regardless of process.

Just my $0.02 from a newbie soaper :)

Last edited:
Ditto! Considering you are using the same recipe, you'll have the same outcome in terms of qualities after cure, no matter the process used.

IrishLass :)