Homemade cream - water separating from wax and oil?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ella

Reaction score
Hey everyone, i am just a beginner at diy body products so today i attempted to make homemade hand cream since i am allergic to a lot of store and even pharmacy bought stuff (allergy to salycilates, predominantly plant based stuff, essential oils, SLS, sulphites, mineral oils, parabens, preservatives, fragrances, nickel), i used only bees wax and sunflower oil (since i can only tolerate those) and spring water, but it turned out quite hard as it set and water started separating. I used 1 tablespoons wax, 6 tablespons oil, less than a cup of spring water. Is there something wrong with measurements. Any suggestions on what i could do differently, i hoped the cream would turn out more frothy:(?

Beeswax by itself generally does not produce a stable emulsion.

If you can't tolerate reliable emulsifiers like ewax/polawax/BTMS (have you tried these? How do you know you can't tolerate them?), then you might consider a solid lotion bar of beeswax and oils or a salve with the same ingredients.

You could also try a whipped butter without any water - say 70-80% shea and the remainder a liquid oil.

We also need to know a lot more about your method to trouble shoot. Did you heat and hold your ingredients? Did you use a stick blender or some other method for mixing? Also ingredients should be by weight, not volume and even better if you can convert them to % form.

Just eyeballing it, your ratio of oil to water seems a bit high. I can't comment on the amount of beeswax because I don't use it in lotions.