Holes under surface in soy wax candle? Help!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Emily.182

Reaction score
Hi!

I'm new to candle making and have only made a few candles so far. Every candle I've make has had these holes (see picture) that only appear about 10-15 minutes into the initial burn. The melt pool also starts bubbling.

The surface of my candles are smooth once they have set so it's impossible to see if these holes will appear until after I've started using the candle. I want to be able to eventually sell these candles but feel concerned about the fact that my candles seem perfect until the wax starts to melt!

Has anyone got any idea what might be causing this and how I can stop it from happening?

I am using the Kerasoy container wax in glass jars.

89152416_609122766333142_7226275311514550272_n.jpg

89383288_193296118776443_3240915887007465472_n.jpg

Wish I had some answers for you. I have only used Golden Wax brand and have not had this issue.
If you got the wax from a candle company, do they have a Help Line or Customer Service department you can contact?

I was thinking about this some more and wonder if they are air bubbles. Is there a recommended pour temperature for the wax you are using? Make sure you are following that. Also, are you stirring your wax as it melts? I find that vigorous stirring can create air bubbles.

Last edited by a moderator:
Wish I had some answers for you. I have only used Golden Wax brand and have not had this issue.
If you got the wax from a candle company, do they have a Help Line or Customer Service department you can contact?

I was thinking about this some more and wonder if they are air bubbles. Is there a recommended pour temperature for the wax you are using? Make sure you are following that. Also, are you stirring your wax as it melts? I find that vigorous stirring can create air bubbles.