Higher water content

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oconnorkm

Reaction score
I have made bar soaps for many years now. But I'd like to try making some liquid soap, especially a 100% olive oil Castille. I watched videos and seen how people make this thick paste and I was wondering if instead of making a paste I could add more water at the beginning and have it be thinner and easier to use. Has anyone done this and is it feasible?

Before answering, it's best for you to start at the beginning:

http://alaiynab.blogspot.com/2014/07/basic-beginner-liquid-soap-and.html
Once you have a basic understanding of how Liquid Soap is made, it will be easier to answer your question. ;)

I've been making LS for 20 years and I can think of 3 answers: "No", "Yes", and " Maybe". It all depends. Not only that, but when it comes to 100% Olive Oil there's a whole better option than your idea of how to go about it. However, it's an advanced technique not recommended for Beginners until after you have at least a few batches successful batches under your belt.

- No. It's feasible but it's not the smartest way to go about it.
- Yes. I believe that's Jackie Thompson's approach - Lye water plus dilution water is added at the start. I could be wrong about that but there was a gal on the old Liquid Soapmakers Yahoo Group (now defunct), Delores Boone, an experienced soapmaker, who wrote the best "picture book" about handcrafted soap who made liquid soap that way:

https://www.thriftbooks.com/w/handc...3d-143ed37675b2#edition=4419018&idiq=12983041