Hi from South West London

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am new in soap making world and I am loving it! so much that I am even thinking to start selling it although for the time being, this is a great way for me to create personalised presents while having fun.

I would love to meet people in my area who are into Soap making so that we can meet up and chat about soap making as well as make friends through this site and learn from those of you who have been doing it for a long time.

Cheers,
Antonia

Welcome, Antonia! I lived in the UK but unfortunately no longer do, otherwise I'd be happy to meet up and chat about soap. :)

Kia Ora, KiwiMoose! and thank you :) Where in NZ are you? I have been to mostly South Island, though I did go to a couple of places in the North Island too :) beautiful country and reminded me a lot of Europe :)

I will definitely share some of my successes as well as my failures, which will happen sooner or later :).... actually, I should have said which has already happened since I just made a soap with a recipe I tried to develop and which contains too many oils & butters (I know) but some were new for me and couldn't wait to try one new addition at a time so I decided to combine them all in one soap bar and now, my final product is too soft as well as seeping oil :( .....
I can only assume is from using too much oil that doesn't fully get saponified (like Shea or Cocoa butter) or not enough lye :'( but according to the Lye calculator I used, the bar should have been hard enough as some of the oils I used helped get a harder soap bar. It is possible I made a mistake in my measurements but I think I did use the correct amounts.
Here is what I have:
Oil/Fat %
Castor Oil 9
Coconut Oil, 76 deg 17
Olive Oil 18
Cocoa Butter 5
Babassu Oil 10
Shea Butter 15
Avocado Oil 8
Mango Seed Butter 6
Neem Seed Oil 7.5