Help!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

meganpenny

Reaction score
Hiya, just wondering if someone could give me a hand! Im quite new to soap making and desperatly want to try making a honey and oatmeal bar! Looking around online I have found a few different recipies but I am completly confused...some say to add the honey like an additive, at trace but one recipie also included almond milk and said to add both honey and milk before you start mixing it and reduce the amount of water used in the lye mixture as the honey will effect this!! And will using honey in the normal recipie give the scent of honey at all? I have recently bought a lovely bar of honey soap and it smells divine, Im not sure if this is achieved with essential oils :S As you can tell..very confused! So any help/adivce would be fantastic thankyou :)

Hi there, if you are new, the members of this forum suggest making a few simple batches with one oil or at least no additives and/or fragerence before you try to cook up a "full meal" if you will. This is because soap is a chemical process and you need to understand what is going to happen. It's very easy to screw up soap if you don't know what to expect. PS - run your recipe through a lye calculator to make sure it's correct! A number of recipes are incorrect, even ones made by soapmakers!

I personally suggest a one-oil soap with no additives. olive oil works well as it is a pure castile soap - the worlds oldest soap formula!