Help me understand lye concentration & water discount

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mzimm

Reaction score
I'm new to soaping, having only about 20 batches of cp soap under my belt, as well as a few batches of liquid soap. Most have been fairly successful, if you count unplanned but otherwise pleasant surprises as "successful."
I'd really like to firm up my understanding of terms like "water discount" and "lye concentration." When I plan my soaps in future, I want to understand all the variables involved. I've mostly used others' recipes and soapcalc's default settings, because I really don't understand what is meant in this forum when someone says something like, "lower your lye concentration," or, "I'd try using medium water and see if that helps."
Could someone please direct me to a good article, or thread, where these terms are fully explained?
Thanks all!

Let me just anticipate one point of confusion. Almost nobody uses the term "lye" correctly, but Dunn does. When he says lye he is talking about the liquid solution, which could have any amount of caustic depending on the concentration (for instance 100 g of lye at 33% concentration is 33 g of caustic dissolved in 67 g of water). When he is referring to the actual dry caustic he says sodium hydroxide. Sodium hydroxide isn't lye.

Last edited by a moderator:
Here is one our most recent threads that discusses this in detail:

http://www.soapmakingforum.com/showthread.php?t=53642

Very simply and straightforward, lye concentration refers to how concentrated/diluted your lye solution is- i.e., how much water was mixed with the lye. And as you will soon see, it is the best way of calculating (and discussing) the amount of water in one's batch.