Help making liquid soap milder?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kirsten.

Reaction score
Hello all you lovely, soapy people!

I need some suggestions please. I've been making liquid soap for a couple of years now and I'm confident that I have the process down. My issue is that the soap is stripping, and I'd like to make it more mild somehow.

The recipe I'm currently working with is: Irish Lass's 'My Creamy Cocoa/Shea GLS Tutorial' (thank you @IrishLass )

My paste is properly sequestered and dilutes nicely to a beautiful creamy pearly soap. My issue is that it leaves my skin dry and tight, with that overly squeaky feeling. Is there any way to add something to make it less effective? lol!

I tried a hair conditioner base from purple citrus (https://www.purplecitrus.ca/shop/hair-conditioner-concentrate-complete/) containing Cetearyl Alcohol, PEG-40 Castor Oil, Stearalkonium Chloride - only because I have it on hand - but it kills the bubbling action of the soap and doesn't really make it milder. It was just a shot in the dark. I've also tried adding citric acid to bring the pH down, though at the moment I don't have a great way to actually measure pH accurately. My water isn't overly hard; my usual cold-process bar soaps are fine for me.

Any suggestions?

A big problem is people use more soap than is strictly necessary so one strategy to make the soap less drying to the skin (and also to lather better!) is to control the amount of soap dispensed per pump or squeeze.

One strategy for portion control is to dilute the product to a lower percentage of pure soap and use a separate thickener to build the thickness back up.

Another option is to dilute the soap even more and put it in a foamer dispenser rather than a pump or squeeze bottle.

Other strategies --