Help! I think something went wrong

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Soapy_Bear

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am very new to soap making and two days ago I made my very first shampoo bar. After it had sat for 48hrs it had the appearance of vaseline. The soap was solid but had a transparent, glossy look. Now i split this batch up, most of the batch was poured into a bigger mold and the rest was poured into the smaller mold. The smaller mold came out fine but it was the bigger mold that came out looking like vaseline. I think maybe I didnt let it cool down slow enough and didnt wrap it right, but I am still unsure what went wrong.. Can I save this batch? I really dont want to throw it away or is this soap actually okay to use?

Any advice would be helpful and appreciated. Thank You!

A glossy Vaseline look sounds just like gel phase. It makes sense that it would happen like that in the larger mold, more soap, more heat generation , higher temp held for longer. Soap should be totally fine

Thank you! I was so worried I might have wasted all that soap. But I have another question; Soap doesn't always have to turn back into a solid color? I just assumed it had too based off of things I read that seemed to always say after gel phase it goes back to a solid color.

This is how my soap turned out. Hope you can see the difference compared to the small one.

1404500109958.jpg

1404500205919.jpg

It they are both hard, those are really nice examples of gelled vs un-gelled soap. Save them for reference! The gelled soap will loose some translucency as it cures, but will still look nice and shiney.

It isn't that hard like the other one, the smaller one is a bit harder. Both of them cut the same with no problem like cutting butter.