help for a beginner please!!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Harvey

Reaction score
Hi, This is my first post here so here goes!..

I am new to soap making and have been reading up on it for ages now to get ideas etc.
I will be looking to make soap for family, friends etc.

I will be looking to make different soaps like lavender, strawberry, etc. (or any you may suggest)

In everyone's opinion which is the best way to go?
eg. cold or hot process? or maybe melt and pour?

Melt and pour seems easier but is it as good?

For some reason in my mind I have eliminated the hot process (or maybe I shouldn't?)

I have already bought some moulds and sodium hydroxide

Any info for a beginner would be most grateful!!

Thank you all

If you are a complete beginner, there are a lot of beginner-friendly tutorials and making process on youtube and internet in general. Just search for beginner soap making. I recommend SoapQueen and Soaping 101
Watch some videos for every technique first and see which one interests you.

There is no "best way" for soaping, just the ones that suits you. Hard to give you precise answers when the question is so broad.

I suggest you read up on each of the processes and decide which to go with. Each has its own pros and its own cons and it'll be up to you to figure out which of those you'd rather deal with lol

I am an HP soaper :)

I highly recommend checking out Soaping 101. If you choose Soap Queen, don't use glass as she does in her videos. Glass is a bad terrible choice.

I do CP but have done some HP and prefer CP. Again, it's a personal choice. Read the last 10 pages in the beginners section here as well. There is a lot of information to be had.

If you have questions, just ask if you can't find the answer.

Welcome!!!

I highly recommend listening to the very experienced soapers on this forum.